Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
Sections
You are here: Home wiki PloneWorkFlow

PloneWorkFlow

The following describes the four default states and transitions for documents in Plone. A transition occurs when the creator, a reviewer of site administrator changes the state of a document as illustrated by the diagram below (n.b. this diagram may not be representative for your site):

The workflow in Plone uses these roles to control site access and the document lifecycle. Ensure the priveliges of your Plone user ID are changed to the level required. You'll need to get in touch with the site administrator to do this. The default roles available are as follows;

  • Anonymous (anyone who visits the site but does not log in)
  • Member (all users who join the site are assigned member role), Members can create content in their own folder. Members can also set their own preferences.
  • Owner is a role members acquire when they create their own content, allowing them to edit, submit, retract and make objects private. Assigning owner role to others is not recommended.
  • Reviewer role allows the member to publish and reject content submitted by members. When reviwers log in they will see a pending message in their personal bar or items awaiting approval or rejection for publication.
  • Manager role can see all content in all states for all Plone users. In addition to Member and Reviewer priveliges they can edit, delete, and move objects, add, edit and delete users and assign them roles.
  • Local Roles are established and assigned by the administrator (managers and owners) to give specific users additional rights in certain sections of the website.

Site administration guidelines:

  1. make users
  2. make groups
  3. assign roles to groups -- not to users (typically)
  4. assign users to groups
  5. assign or revoke local permissions to groups (or users) as required